2013.

2013 has definitely gone by swiftly, from having a job, then resigning, my ongoing studies, a business, Edward being hospitalized, going abroad. A lot of things has happened in my 2013 and I can say that it has truly been an stressful-funfilled-amazing year! I know I am a bit behind on my postings but I will do better this year! As always I post this blog about the top 10 things I am thankful for the year.

Here goes:

10. Geology

It is my second year in graduate school and my course is giving me a chance to live my life to the fullest! I have traveled, learned new things, met new people, all because of Geology. I also have a part time teaching job because of it. I love learning about the earth and I can say that I gambled well, I resigned from my job to focus on my studies, and it brought me a lot of great memories this year.

IMG_2527
Cleaning fossils in the Lab

 9. MM and SS

Merry Me! And Snap!Shots! has been great this year! I was able to do what I love best which is photography and even coordination, I went through a lot of ups and downs, and I still need to learn a lot of things to better my craft, but all in all, I found success in every event that I attended, and I have learned a lot about life and how I should live it.

1522262_637290592997349_1435353302_n
Merry Me! Team

8. Research

I am a business graduate and science is a world away from what I have grown up to. I am used to deadlines for business write ups, SWOT analyses, marketing plans and Supply and Demand curves. Scientific writing is an ultimate greek subject and I admit I am having a difficult time, there were times that I wanted to give up, and I questioned my decisions in life, but I am happy that I am able to do research, even simple ones. I know that I am able to help out in the scientific community in the Philippines and the world no matter how small my subject matter is. I have appreciated the fact that small things can turn big with patience and practice. And I am hoping to be able to do more research in the future no matter how small.

7. Friends

Old and new I am always grateful for them. I am especially thankful for my Highschool and College friends, that even if we don’t see each other often I am still able to feel at home with these guys.

You know who you are!! 😀

6. Fitness

This year I became more active when it comes to my fitness, I gained 30lbs in the last 2 years and I feel really bad for myself for getting this big, because of this fact I decided to enrol to pole fitness and yoga. Pole fitness is one of the best decisions I have had in my life. I have met the most wonderful friends and I am able to make my body stronger. I will have to work harder in the next year to become more fit but 2013 was my gateway, and now that I am in to being healthy, there is no turning back.

IMG_4434
Trying pole out

5. Flying

After a year and some months of not being able to fly because of my previous operation, now I am able to. It is one of my most favourite things to do, I feel at home in the skies and I am happy that I am able to travel again.

1378056_10151677659250669_1720369044_n
On the way to the USA

4. Visa and travels

One of the highlights of my year is being approved for a 10 year multiple USA visa, I was able to travel to the US meet my family, see sights, meet scientists, and feel really grown up.

I was able to go to 2 international conferences, 2 local and a few vacations here and there.

In the US I was able to visit Virginia, Chesapeake bay, Maryland, Washington DC, New York and San Francisco.

I attended an asian conference in Malaysia, a local one in Tacloban and in school.

I was able to visit my mom for her 50th birthday, and swim in Potipot in Zambales. I went on a fieldwork in Tanay Rizal, Baguio, Ilocos, La Union, and Pangasinan.

It was indeed a great travel year!

934022_10151670979750669_1377679657_n

3. Family

For the first time in years, my family was whole, well whole in the sense that I was able to be with the people I grew up with, my uncles and aunts all together. It is rare that we see each other, and I am happy to be able to be with them even just for one day in a year.

DSC_0186 copy

2. Meeting Martin

I love my brother, I don’t know why. Even if I have not met him yet, I already loved him dearly. Meeting him was a dream come true. I remembered when they announced in our lab that a team will go to the US as delegates for a conference, I asked my professor if I can go with them even just for the visa application, I got approved, I got funded, and I was able to see my dear brother.

 1233429_10151653256070669_639645494_n

1. His perseverance to live

I am always thankful for Edward, and I am thankful that he does everything to survive. He is sick but I am happy that he always finds strength to be better. He inspires me to be a better person, and I hope that I am also a good influence to him and a major source of his motivation to live. I love him dearly and on our 4th year in our relationship, I know that life will be dull without him in it.

 

TTFN!

Love, Yannie

Leave a Reply

