Money Matters

Restricting yourself will only cause you to want more. Think of it this way, no money, no honey, right?

I can definitely say, I am tired of living from paycheck to paycheck, I often ask myself, how would I be able to get out of this situation and not just merely exist and be a statistic, but really live.

One thing that my recent situation has taught me is that no matter what happens in your life, one way or another you will be able to get over it, recuperating may be slow and hard and may take its time but you will recover somehow.

At this point I am back to zero. My savings account is wiped out, there is no money in my paycheck account, nor am I expecting any salary this pay period, there is little food in my refrigerator and I have no clue what I am going to do.

I am so fed  up with my living situation, so this afternoon, I brainstormed in my trusted corner in the house and I wrote down my plan.

1. I will think positively.

See whenever I save up a good amount of money in my account something happens, like my brother in-between jobs, or him moving out, or me getting sick. Something bad always happens, this is what always comes to my mind whenever my savings account gets a few of my paychecks.

I will not let this be my mind set, it is just a matter of chance that bad things happen when I save money. It is not going to happen again. So my number 1 rule is think positive.

2. Live prudently.

My body is still a bit sensitive to movement but I will sacrifice taking cabs. I have to be up all night for work but I will sacrifice lattes. I love eating but I will sacrifice take-out food. But I will not sacrifice my happiness. Happiness does not mean I have to spend more, I will still live my life like I do with a few minor adjustments.

These are a lot of little things that costs you more than what is necessary, like getting to work, public transportation is 77% cheaper than a cab or a cup of coffee  doesn’t mean it needs to be from a cafe. Every penny counts, and I will live prudently.

3. Make a budget and stick to it.

I make lists and budgets all the time but hey, as normal people we don’t necessarily stick to what we plan. Come on, admit it, more often than not we deviate from our plans and most especially on our budget.

But this time I am setting it in stone! I have a target and I am going to get to it no matter what.

4. Goal Setting.

Attaining goals are pretty hard especially if your heart is not set to achieve it. For me, I want to go back to school, I want to travel as much as I can and I love good food.

Short term goals are set, like saving X amount of money for a trip to Y. A fund needs to be set if I want to go back to school. I am putting myself to the ultimate test of being able to set my goals and priorities and really make it happen.

5. Pay myself.

Sure we may have a salary, and we get paid, but WE don’t really get paid.

Our bills are paid, our monthly rent, but we take ourselves for granted by not setting an amount for “me”. Working an 8 hour full time job, getting paid twice a month, but not really having money saved up for a bigger prize.

So why not try this: I promise to start paying myself just like I pay my bills, my list will be something like: utilities, Credit card bills, grocery, travel, Yann.

Including yourself in a tangible list will make you realize that you deserve a part of it too, It’ll remind you that there is something you are aiming for.

These are just some of the things that I am trying to work on for me. How about you? What do you want to change?

Leave a Reply

