A promise

I don’t care if I have to go out of my way but I made a promise, a promise to visit my mom in Cebu every Sinulog.

It is one way of me saying thank you to her and also to celebrate our relationship.

I did not really know my mom till I was in College, it is, sort of, a long story so I won’t deal with the details, but I guess whats important is that I was able to still have a good thing going with her even if I did not grow up in her household.

When I was in elementary and High school, I always thought that my classmates were all lucky, to have a mom to be there in presentations, carrying their bags and do their make-up when we have our yearly field-demos, and being in the Glee club I always had to be onstage when there is a school event.

It was nice growing up and taking care of myself sure, but I still wondered what it was like to have someone be busy for me, worrying about my costumes and stuff.

This trip I take every year is a pledge or a “Panata“, I always start my traveling year in the third weekend of January, be with my mom whom I seldom see (I go to Cebu once a year and she visits my brother and I in Manila once or if lucky twice a year). That has been our relationship, and who am I to break my promise when this is the only way I can show her that I appreciate her for being here. It’s only once a year (and I’m hoping it would be more) and I need and want to be there.

I love my mom, I do, despite the differences and the many things that we may not agree on, think of it this way; if she wasn’t here, I wouldn’t be here either, right?. 😀

So here is a shout out to all moms out there, remember; no matter how they turn out to be, your children will always have love for you.

Cheers!

One thought on “A promise

Leave a Reply

